You’d think that after starting a blog on Mercury retrograde as a means of coming to grips with the phenomenon, I’d do better than get blindsided by it so easily.

I took some videos on my digital camera of a fireworks display earlier this evening. The first few were about 30 to 40 secs long, but I took a five minute sequence at the end to capture the whole finale, intending to edit it down on the computer. However, the file size was too large and the download was interrupted. I thought it might be easier to delete the pictures and shorter videos on the camera itself to ease the downloading of the longer one. Was I not too quick on the draw and erased the long clip as well?

Whatever possessed me to attempt such a transfer on the day Mercury stations direct, I’ll never know. A quick run-through of the photo recovery programme has also proved fruitless, though I wonder if it might come to life in a few days?

If it’s well and truly lost, my only consolation is the short clips still exist to mark the occasion. In hindsight, it’s always easy to say, ‘I should have known better’. Grammar could only have been invented for moments like this. Sob.

